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If you want to file a… 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

CIVIL 
 

(Summons & Complaint) 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



 

MOHAVE COUNTY JUSTICE COURT 
 
 
 
 
 
 
In situations where a civil dispute arises, the justice court offers grounds 
for a civil lawsuit within its jurisdictional limit. Jurisdiction means the kinds 
of cases a court has the authority to hear. In justice court you may file a 
civil lawsuit claiming an amount UP TO AND INCLUDING $10,000.00. 
You may also ask for reimbursement of court costs and/or attorneys fees. 
Court costs include, but are not limited to filing and service fees. 
 
If you wish to file a civil lawsuit for an amount of $10,000.00 or over, you 
must file your case in the Superior Court. 
 

Please STOP… 
 

 
If you are suing for more than $10,000.00 

 

If this case: 
 

Involves a claim of defamation by libel or slander 

Is (an eviction). for forcible or unlawful detainer 

Involves a claim for specific performance. 

Is part of a class action suit 

Seeks injunctive relief 

 
 

Please PROCEED… 

 

If you are suing for $10,000.00 or less 
 

 

If you are filing within the correct venue (either the 
defendant’s residence or where the transaction transpired). 
 

 

 
 



 

 
MOHAVE COUNTY JUSTICE COURT 

 
 
 

FORMS Needed: (Click on the form name in the table below to download the form) 

 

 
Civil Complaint & Summons 

 
 
INSTRUCTIONS:  

1) Read the Information for Civil Cases attachment.  
2) Check the venue for your claim on the court precinct map. 

You are responsible for filing your case in the correct court.   
3) Complete the forms and make copies of the Civil Complaint 

and the Civil Summons. Make 3 copies of each form if you are 
filing against one person or a company. Make 4 copies if you 
are filing against two persons (such as a married couple).  

4) Bring the original form and copies to file with the court clerk and 
pay the filing fee.  

5) Serve the forms on the defendant(s). You may serve by any 
method of service available by Arizona Rules of Civil 
Procedure, Rule 4, including process server.  

 
 
 
IT IS IMPORTANT THAT ALL PARTIES KEEP THE COURT APPRISED 
OF ANY CHANGE IN ADDRESS A NOTICE OF CHANGE OF ADDRESS 
form must be filed with the court when a party changes their address. 

 
Visit us at www.mohavecourts.az.gov/Justice/JCSS_Home.html for 
additional filing information and online forms. 

http://www.mohavecourts.az.gov/court%20forms/Justice%20Courts%20SS/Civil Suits/JCSS_CVSummonsComplaint.pdf


 

Mohave County Justice Courts 
 
INFORMATION FOR FILING A CIVIL CASE IN JUSTICE COURT 

 
IF YOU ELECT TO REPRESENT YOURSELF You 
have a responsibility to yourself and to the court to 
acquire a sufficient knowledge to complete the forms 
properly and to follow your lawsuit to conclusion. 
There are certain steps you must follow to pursue it 
properly. This information is provided to assist you in 
general procedure. You may also want to refer to the 
Arizona Revised Statutes (ARS) and Arizona Rules of 
Court (ARCP) for additional information. may be 
viewed online @ www. azleg. state. az. us/Arizona 
Revised Statutes. asp or may be found at your local 
library.    
 
 
CLERK DUTY The clerks in the Justice Court are not 
attorneys and cannot give legal advice. The clerks' 
responsibility is to take your court filing and to provide 
forms and explain court procedures. It is not the clerks' 
responsibility to advise you if you have a legal claim. 
The clerk is not responsible for any error you may 
make in asserting or defending the claim. The court 
does not take sides or render an opinion regarding the 
merits of a claim. 

 
COURT FEES  
Filing fees are payable at the time of filing. 
Refer to the Court's posted schedule of fees.  

ARS 22-281 A 
 
JURISDICTIONAL LIMIT Jurisdiction means the kinds 
of cases a court has authority to hear. In Justice Court 
you may file a lawsuit involving damages up to and 
including $10,000.00. A larger  
claim may be reduced to less than $10,000.00 and the 
remaining amount waived.  
Reimbursement of court costs and/or attorneys  
fees may be claimed in addition to the $10,000.00 
maximum. Court costs include, but are not limited  
to filing and service fees. ARS 22-201 
 
VENUE means the proper geographical area (the 
precinct) in which a lawsuit may be filed. You  
must file the lawsuit where the defendant resides or 
does business or where the cause of the lawsuit 
occurred 
 
CHANGE OF VENUE A motion for change of venue 
for improper venue must be filed prior to 

 
filing the answer, or venue is waived. If a motion is 
filed alleging that the lawsuit is filed in the wrong 
precinct and the court orders a change of venue, the 
case will be transferred to the proper precinct. If you 
oppose a motion for change of venue you must file an 
objection in writing within ten days after service of the 
motion.       ARS 12-404A 
 
Venue may be proper in more than one precinct, 
however if, after hearing, the original venue is found 
to be wrong additional fees may be assessed to the 
plaintiff.       ARS 12-407 
 
ATTORNEYS An Attorney may represent either party.   
With few exceptions, the Arizona Rules of Civil 
Procedure (ARCP) for the Superior Courts of Arizona 
are followed in the Justice Courts.  

ARS 22-211 
 
PARTIES Every lawsuit shall be prosecuted in the 
name of the real party in interest. Be sure that you 
have named the correct party. Refer to the HOW TO 
DESIGNATE A PARTY handout attached. 

 
INDIVIDUALS An individual named in a lawsuit 
may represent him/herself. One spouse cannot 
represent the other. If both husband and wife are 
named as parties, both must answer the complaint 
(as evidenced by the signature of both on the 
pleadings). If one party fails to answer or appear 
he/she may be subject to a judgment by default. 

 
CORPORATIONS A corporation authorized to 
transact business in the State of Arizona is 
required to maintain a statutory agent upon whom 
process (court papers) may be served. 
The name and address of the statutory agent may be 

obtained by calling the Corporation Commission - 

602-542-3026,   www. cc. state.az.us/index. 

 
When filing against a corporation, it is recommended 
that you contact the Corporation Commission and 
obtain the correct corporate name and the name and 
address of its statutory agent. (CAUTION: The 
statutory agent is not the defendant. The statutory 
agent is the party upon whom service may be made on 
behalf of the corporation). 



 

INFORMATION REGARDING CIVIL CASES IN JUSTICE COURT 
 

UNINCORPORATED BUSINESSES When filing 
on behalf of, or against an unincorporated 
business, it is necessary that the true name or 
names of the party doing business under that 
business name be shown as the plaintiff or 
defendant. This information may be obtained by 
calling the Secretary of State.  
PARTNERSHIPS A partnership may sue, or be 
sued, in the name that it has assumed or by which 
it is known. A partner may appear and represent 
his own partnership interest, but cannot represent 
the partnership or the interest of other partners 
unless he/she is an attorney. 

 
 
PLEADINGS  shall set forth a short and plain 
statement.       ARCP8(a) 
 
1) Upon which the court's jurisdiction depends.  
2) Upon which the court's venue depends.  
3) Showing the pleader is entitled to relief.  
4) A demand for judgment for the relief sought.   

EXAMPLE  
I am claiming damages against the defendant in  
the amount of $10,000.00.   (jurisdiction) 
 
The  defendant  resides  in the South Phoenix 
Precinct, (or, The lawsuit occurred in the South 
Phoenix Precinct).   (venue) 
 
The defendant owes me money because      ... 
 (legal entitlement to claim) 
  
Wherefore, the plaintiff requests that the court 
enter judgment in his favor in the sum of 
        (demand) 
 
SERVICE OF SUMMONS AND  COMPLAINT  
Service is the delivery of a legal document notifying a 
person of legal lawsuit taken against him or her. In 
addition to any other available methods as provided by 
ARCP Rule 4.1, service of the summons and 
complaint may be by a private process server. The 
fees of a private process server are regulated by 
statute. The process server may ask for payment in 
advance or may bill you for the cost of the service. 
You are to make payment arrangements directly with 
the process server for the services performed. 
 

ARCP 4 

 
EACH NAMED DEFENDANT MUST BE SERVED A 

COPY OF THE COMPLAINT/ SUMMONS.  
YOUR LAWSUIT WILL BE DISMISSED IF THE 
SUMMONS AND COMPLAINT HAVE NOT BEEN 
SERVED WITHIN 120 DAYS OF THE FILING OF THE  
COMPLAINT.   ARCP 4(i) 
 
SERVICE AFTER APPEARANCE After a party has 
filed an appearance in a lawsuit, unless otherwise 
ordered by the court, all subsequent pleadings, 
notices and orders may be served upon the  
attorney of record or the appearing parties (the plaintiff 
or defendant) by regular first class mail.  

ARCP 5(c) 
 
IT IS IMPORTANT THAT ALL PARTIES KEEP THE 
COURT APPRISED OF ANY CHANGE IN 
ADDRESS 
by the court and must be filed with the court when  
a party changes their address.   ARC P 5.1 
(b) 
 
DEFAULT A party defaults when that party fails to 
respond to a lawsuit within the specified time allowed. 
If the defendant fails to file an answer to the complaint 
within the time allowed, the plaintiff may apply for an 
entry of default against the defendant. 

 
If a counterclaim has been filed and the plaintiff fails to 
file a reply to the counterclaim within the time allowed, 
the counter-claimant (defendant) may apply for an 
entry of default against the counter-defendant (plaintiff) 
on the counterclaim. 
 
The party seeking the default must mail a copy of the 
application to the defaulting party. If the party claimed 
to be in default fails to file an answer or pleading or 
otherwise defend in the lawsuit within ten (10) judicial 
days of the filing of the application, the default will take 
effect and a default judgment will be entered against 
the party or parties in default. 
 
 
Judgment by default may be entered by motion or by 
hearing. If the claim is for a specified monetary sum, 
the party seeking the default judgment may file an 
affidavit stating the amount due and a motion 
requesting that the court enter judgment for that 
amount and for costs. In other cases the court will set 
the matter for hearing to determine the amount of 
damages and to enter judgment as evidenced at the 
hearing. ARCP 55(b) 



 

INFORMATION REGARDING CIVIL CASES IN JUSTICE COURT 
 
DISMISSAL The plaintiff may dismiss the claim at any 
time prior to defendant filing an answer or other 
pleading. Once the defendant has filed an answer or 
other responsive pleading, both parties must stipulate 
to a dismissal (agree in writing). 
 
The defendant may ask the court for reimbursement 

of court costs and/or attorney fees expended to 

defend the lawsuit. ARCP 41 (a) 
 
FILING AN ANSWER An answer is the defendant's 

response to the plaintiff's allegations as stated in a 

complaint. 
 
The defendant has twenty (20) calendar days from the 
date of service in which to file an answer (in writing) to 
the complaint. 
 
If the complaint is served out-of-state the party served 
has thirty (30) calendar days in which to file an 
answer. If served by registered mail or by publication, 
or if service is waived, other time limits apply. 

 
In computing the time in which to file an answer, the 
date of service is not included. If the last day falls on a 
Saturday, a Sunday, or a legal holiday, the answer 
may be filed on the next immediate judicial day. 

 
The answer should respond to each element of the  
complaint.       ARS 22-216  
 
FILING A COUNTERCLAIM  A counterclaim is a  
claim made by the defendant against the plaintiff a  
counter lawsuit within a lawsuit.  
A counterclaim, if asserted, is filed at the time of filing 

the answer. 
 
If the defendant files a counterclaim, the plaintiff 
(counter-defendant) has twenty (20) days from the 
date of service in which to file a reply (in writing) to the 
counterclaim. There is no fee for filing a reply to a 
counterclaim. 
 
If the counterclaim exceeds $10,000, the case will be 
immediately transferred to the Superior Court and 
appropriate filing fees will be assessed by Superior 
Court before processing can continue.  
 
MOTIONS A motion is a request made by a party 
asking the court to issue a ruling or an order. If a party 

files a motion of any kind with the court and the 
opposing party has objections to the motion 
made, those objections must be filed in writing 
with the court within ten judicial days of the filing 
of the motion. The Judge will consider the 
motion and any objections thereto and enter an 
order either granting or denying the motion. Or, 
on request of either party, the court may 
schedule an oral argument before rendering an 
order.  

ARCP 7.1 
 
HOW TO COMPUTE TIME LIMITS In computing any 
period of time, the day of the act is not included (day 1 
is the day following the date of the act or event). When 
any period of time allowed is less than 11 days 
Saturday, Sundays or holidays are not counted (only 
judicial days or working days are counted). When any 
period of time allowed is eleven days or more, all days 
are counted (straight days). The last day of the period 
of time is included in the count - but does not end until 
12:00 midnight of that day. ARCP 6(a) 
 
 
Whenever one party has the right or is required to 
respond to a filing of the other party within a specified 
period of time, and the notice or paper is served by 
mail, five calendar days (straight days) 
are added to the period of time. This does not apply to 
the mailing of a Notice of Entry of Default.  

ARCP 6(e) 
 
DISCLOSURE is the pretrial process requiring each 
party to fully disclose to the other party(s) the 
evidence and witness testimony that will be presented 
in trial. Disclosure statements must be filed with the 
court and a copy sent to all parties within forty (40) 
days of the filing of the Answer. Failure to comply with 
disclosure may result in sanctions, dismissal or a 
default judgment. 
Disclosure includes: 

• The factual basis for each claim/defense.   
• A description of the damage(s) and copies of  

any exhibits substantiating the dollar value of 
the damages. 

• The legal theory upon which each claim is 
based 

• The names, addresses and telephone numbers  
of all witnesses and a brief summary of the  
expected testimony. 

• A list of documents or other evidence that  
supports the claim.    ARCP 26.1  

 



 

INFORMATION REGARDING CIVIL CASES IN JUSTICE COURT 
 
 
MEDIATION:  
A mediation hearing may be set to assist the parties in 
reaching a settlement. If a settlement agreement cannot  
be reached, the case will be set for trial.  
A failure to appear at the scheduled mediation hearing 
may result in dismissal of the complaint or a judgment 
may be entered in favor of the party that appears.  
 
THE TRIAL If your lawsuit is set for trial you should 
educate yourself regarding court procedures and the 
rules regarding what evidence is admissible. The 
plaintiff has a responsibility to prove by the greater 
weight of evidence (''preponderance of evidence'') that 
they have a legal right to the claim for damages. 
 
 
Motions to continue a trial date must be in writing and 

filed with the court. ARS 22-221 
 
A failure to appear at the scheduled trial date may 
result in dismissal and the defendant may be awarded 
his/her costs and/or attorney fees necessarily incurred 
to defend the lawsuit. 
 
Either party can request a jury trial. Both parties will be 
required to exchange and submit prepared jury 
instructions to the court before trial. The party 
requesting a jury will be assessed jury fees, if 
judgment is not found in favor of the requesting party. 
 
 
If a jury is not requested the Judge will hear the  
case. A person representing himself (acting as their 
own attorney) will be held to the same  
standard as an attorney.   ARS 22-220B 
 
At trial the plaintiff will proceed first and may call 
witnesses and/or introduce exhibits. The defendant 
may cross-examine any witnesses or object to the 
admission of any exhibit. After the plaintiff rests, the 
defendant will then present his case and may call 
witnesses and/or introduce exhibits that may prove or 
defend their position. The plaintiff may cross-examine 
any witnesses or object to the admission of any 
exhibit. 
 
After all evidence is presented, the judge or jury will 

decide the case. 

 
 
 
IF YOU ARE AWARDED JUDGMENT refer to the court's 

handout COLLECTING A MONEY JUDGMENT. 
 
APPEAL Either party may appeal from a Justice Court 
judgment by filing a Notice of Appeal within fourteen 
(14) calendar days of the entry of judgment. The court 
cannot extend the time for appeal. Refer to the court's 
handout NOTICE OF RIGHT TO APPEAL. 
 
 
Ask the clerk for information regarding bonds and 

costs of appeal. ARS 22-261 A 
 
When you are paid in full you must file a 
SATISFACTION OF JUDGMENT with the court. 
This form is available from the court. 

 



 

INFORMATION REGARDING CIVIL CASES IN JUSTICE COURT 
 

The following checklist may assist you in processing your case. Check off each as it occurs. 
  
   PLAINTIFF CHECKLIST         DEFENDANT CHECKLIST   
 Date COMPLAINT filed and filing fee      If you object to the venue (the precinct in which   
 ______________________________________    complaint was filed) you must file a Motion for Change
 Date SUMMONS and COMPLAINT given to    of Venue for Improper Venue before the answer is  
 server for service on defendant(s)     filed.  
 ________________________________________     
               Date answer filed and filing fee paid   
 Date COMPLAINT served        ___________________________________________ 
              Within 20 calendar days of the date you were served /
              30 days if served out-of-state  
 Date time to ANSWER ____________________   __________________________________________  
 20 days after defendant served / 30 days if served   If you fail to file an answer, the plaintiff may obtain a  
 out-of-state             default judgment against you.   
 
IF ANSWER IS RECEIVED:         Date time to file DISCLOSURE   
              _______________________________________ 
 Date defendant files an         40 days after filing of Answer  
 _________________________________________    
              Date COUNTERCLAIM filed and copy mailed 
 Date time to file DISCLOSURE       plaintiff _________________________________ 
 _________________________________________   If you intend to file a counterclaim you must do so 
  40 days after filing of Answer       at the same time the Answer is filed. You must use  
              the proper form and mail a copy to the plaintiff.  
IF NO ANSWER IS RECEIVED:         
            
 Date AFFIDAVIT OF DEFAULT and APPLICATION FOR   Date time to REPLY_______________________ 
 OF DEFAULT filed with court and copy mailed to    Date plaintiff files a  _______________________ 
 defendant ___________________________________ 
             IF NO REPLY IS RECEIVED 
 Date time to REPLY TO COUNTERCLAIM       
 _________________________________________      Date AFFIDAVIT OF DEFAULT and APPLICATION FOR 
  If the defendant files a counterclaim YOU must file a      OF DEFAULT filed with court and copy mailed to plaintiff 
 reply to the counterclaim within 20 calendar days. If      
 you fail to file a reply, the defendant may obtain a   _____________________________________ 
 default judgment against you.  
 

NOTICE TO ALL PARTIES  
Default If the time to answer passes and the defendant fails to answer the complaint, or if the time to reply 
to a counterclaim passes and the plaintiff fails to reply to the counterclaim, you may get information and 
forms from the court for obtaining a default judgment. 

 
It is required that a VOLUNTARY DISMISSAL be filed if the case is settled out of court. 

 
TRIAL scheduled for __________________  Bring all evidence, documents and witnesses you need to 
present your case or establish your defense. 

 
Notice of Address Change All parties are responsible for informing the court of a current address. 
Collecting the Judgment award If you are not able to make arrangements with the losing party to collect 
your judgment, you may seek a Writ of Execution, a Writ of Garnishment, or an Order for Supplemental 
Proceedings (debtor's examination). You may ask the court clerk for the necessary form. 


