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ESTABLISHMENT OF A COURT ORDER FOR  

PARENTING TIME 
 

(CHECKLIST) 
 
You may use the forms and instructions in this packet if… 
 

√ You are the natural or adoptive parent of the minor child(ren); AND 
 
 √  You are not legally married to the other parent;* AND 
 
           √          Paternity has already been legally established because: 
 
                      •    You already have a court order establishing paternity; OR 
                      •    You have a court order for child support; OR    
                      •    Both parents signing an Acknowledgment of Paternity through the Hospital          
                           Paternity Program or other means provided by law after July 18, 1996, and a  
                           birth certificate listing the name of the father was issued as a result; AND 
           
           √ You want to file a “Petition to Establish Parenting Time;” AND 
 
 √           The minor child(ren) resided (lived) in Arizona at least 6 months  (or since birth if   
                       younger than 6 months) before you file the petition or you talked with a lawyer who 
                       advised you that you could pursue the case in Arizona. 
 
 

*   If you are legally married to the other parent, you may only obtain an order for    
    legal decision making (or parenting time) as part of an action for legal separation,  
    divorce, or annulment.  A.R.S. §25-401 (B) and A.R.S. §25-408 

 
 

READ ME:  Consulting a lawyer before filing documents with the court may help prevent 
unexpected results.  Before you sign any court document, or get involved with a court case, it is 
important that you see a lawyer to make sure you are doing the right thing.  Go to www.azbar.org 
for a list of court-approved lawyers. 

 

 


