
Q. What should I bring to my monthly appoint-
ments with my probation officer? 
A. Photo ID (Driver’s License or State ID card). 
Proof of where you live (utility bill, business mail, etc.), 
employment (pay stub), treatment, community service, 
and payment receipts for making your monthly proba-
tion fines, fees and restitution payments. 
 

Q: Can I get off Probation early? 
A: It may be possible. If you are making good progress 
and are compliant with probation, your probation officer 
may ask the Judge to grant you an early termination. 
 
Q. Can I travel or move out of state? 
A. Yes, however, you may not travel or move out of 
state without prior written permission from your Proba-
tion Officer. Transferring your probation to another state 
is possible, however there is a minimum cost of $1,300. 
 
Q. Can I move or change my local residence? 
A. Yes, with your Probation Officer’s permission and pri-
or approval of the residence. 
 
Q: Do I have to pay to be on probation? 
A: You are required to pay a $65.00 Probation fee each 
month, in addition to any other fines and restitution. 
This amount may be lowered by the Judge. 
 
Q: Where can I do my community service? 
A: Only at approved sites that your probation officer or 
community restitution officer will advise you of. 
 

Q. Do I have to pay for my treatment services? 
A. You may have to pay for your treatment. However, 
you may be eligible for services through private or state 
funding, free services, or services that are offered at a 
reduced cost or co-payment.  
 
Q. Can I have a firearm or weapons?  
A. NO, anyone on supervised probation may not possess 
firearms, ammunition, stun guns, Tasers, BB guns, 
throwing or hunting knives, or martial arts weapons.  
Possess also means having these items in your resi-
dence, even if they do not belong to you. 
 

 

F R E Q U E N T L Y  A S K E D  

Q U E S T I O N S  

M O H A V E  C O U N T Y  

A D U L T  P R O B A T I O N   Valid photo identification (driver license, passport, 

etc.) 

 Your court paperwork. You’ll need the yellow copies 

of your terms and conditions of probation. 

 Most importantly, bring a good attitude! 

Tips for Success 
 Review and understand all of your conditions of 

probation. 
 Think before you act. Slow yourself down and 

think a few steps ahead. 
 Surround yourself with law-abiding people who 

really want to see you do well, such as friends, 

family, co-workers, and formal support groups. 
 Take ownership of your probation by becoming 

an active participant. 
 Be open to the guidance from your Probation 

Officer. 
 The responsibility for making changes in your 

life is yours.  

Kingman (Main office) 
809 E. Beale St.  
Kingman, Arizona 86402 
Call: (928)753-0741 
 
Lake Havasu City 
2001 College Drive, #129  
Lake Havasu City AZ 86404 
Call: (928)453-0707 

Bullhead City  
5287 Hwy 95 So., Ste#1  
Bullhead City, AZ 86426 
Call: (928)768-7081 
 
Arizona Strip  
435 East Tabernacle #202  
St. George, UT 84770 
Call: (435)-673-2630  

http://www.mohavecourts.com/Probation 
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What  is  probation? 
 

 Probation is an alternative to incarceration. A 
person is typically sentenced to probation 
when a judge believes they can be rehabili-
tated without going to jail or prison.  

 

 Probation benefits you by allowing you to 
make positive changes in your life while re-
maining in the community. 

 

 Probation benefits the community by cutting 
down on the expensive costs of keeping an 
offender in jail or prison. 

 
What are my Conditions of Probation? 
 

 They are the uniform conditions of probation 
issued by the court during sentencing that 
apply to everyone and any special conditions 
ordered by the judge in your case.  

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

What is a Violation of Probation? 
 

 When you do not follow the conditions of 
your probation, it is a violation of probation.  

 

 If you violate your probation, you may receive 
an intermediate sanction, or a Petition to Re-
voke your probation maybe filed and you will 
be arrested or summoned back to Court.  
There will be a court hearing and if a violation 
is proven, you may be reinstated on proba-
tion or sentenced to jail or prison.  

PROBATION CONDITIONS INCLUDE 

 

  Monthly visits: You will be required to meet with your 
probation officer at least 1-2 times per month. These 
visits will take place at your home as well as at the 
Probation office. You are responsible for getting 
transportation to and from office visits. 

 

  Employment: You will be required to get a job in or-
der to pay any fines, fees, & restitution ordered. 
These monies must be paid each month. You may 
also be required to get a G.E.D. or attend school. 

 

  Drug Testing: You will be subject to random drug 
and alcohol testing throughout your time on probation, 
sometimes at your own expense. 

 
  Alcohol Use: If the judge orders you not to consume 

alcohol, then you cannot have alcohol in your resi-
dence and you cannot frequent bars or casinos. 

 

  Contact Restrictions: You will not be allowed to as-
sociate with other people who are on probation or 
parole, or who have any type of criminal record. This 
may include family members. Your probation officer 
may direct you not to have contact with a specific 
person. You are also not allowed to visit anyone in jail 
or prison. 

 

  Financial Obligations: You are required to pay all 
fines, fees, and restitution every month. Restitution is 
money that goes directly to the victim(s). Failure to 
keep current on restitution payments may result in 
additional court action. 

 
 
 

 

YOUR RIGHT TO PRIVACY 

 

While on probation, you will not be afforded full protec-
tion under the 4th Amendment to the United States 
Constitution.  
 Probation officers have the power to search your 

person, your property (including computers and 
cell phones), as well as your residence. 

 Probation officers do not need warrants to enter, 
search, or seize a probationer’s property.  

 Probation officers may enter your residence at any 
time, and you do not have to be at home for them 
to enter. 

 Probation officers may detain everyone in your 
residence for their safety while at your residence. 

 
In essence, anything you have access to, your proba-
tion officer has access to. If your probation officer finds 
prohibited items in your residence, and determines that 
you have access to them, it is a violation of probation. 
 
Even if you do not own the residence where you are 
staying, all of the same rules apply. If you are there, it 
is considered your residence. It is your responsibility to 
know where you are, who you are with, and to follow 
the conditions of your probation. 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
RESTORATION OF RIGHTS 

 

You may submit an application to the sentencing court 
to have your civil rights restored and / or the judgment 
vacated after completion of probation. Waiting times 
vary depending upon the offense. 


