IMPORTANT INFORMATION SHEET-NO INSURANCE

Effective September 30, 2009, Arizona Revised Statute (A.R.S.) § 28-4135 requires the Motor Vehicle
Department (MVD) to administratively suspend the driver’s license and registration (plates) of any
person convicted of a violation of A.R.S. § 28-4135 (A), (B) and (C) upon receipt of the abstract indicating
the judgment of responsible. The monetary penalties associated with a violation of this statute remain
the same and are:

e $955.80 for a first offense.

e 51396.80 for a second offense.

e $1845.80 for a third offense.

Effective September 30, 2009, the statute also allows the court to reduce or waive the penalty imposed
for a violation of A.R.S. §28-4135 if the person provides proof of both of the following items:
e The defendant (driver) has not been found responsible of a violation of A.R.S. §28-4135 within
the past 24 months OR has not had more than one violation of A.R.S. §28-4135 within the past
36 months as evidenced by the person’s driving record. You may obtain a print out of your
driving record by going to the MVD Website/Online Services/Motor Vehicle Record at :
http://www.azdot.gov/MVD/index.asp
e The defendant has purchased a six month policy of insurance that meets the requirements of
A.R.S. §28-40009.

Upon receipt of the judgment of responsible, MVD is responsible for entering a suspension of the
defendant’s driver license and/or registration (plates) in their system. In order to ensure that the
defendant is in compliance with the suspension and to receive timely notifications from MVD, the
defendant must ensure that MVD has their most current address.

The suspension of the defendant’s driver license and /or registration (plates) is not effective until MVD
mails the Corrective Action Notice to the address of record. Service of notice is considered complete
upon the mailing of the Corrective Action Notice. The Corrective Action Notice will provide information
on the effective date of the suspension and reinstatement requirements (e.g., fees, SR22, proof of
insurance, etc).

Defendants may be eligible for a MVD issued restricted license if they obtain an SR22 certificate, provide
proof of valid insurance and they comply with the additional criteria established by the MVD.

To determine eligibility and for any other questions regarding the suspension, defendants should
contact MVD at:

http://www.azdot.gov/MVD/index.asp
Phoenix (602) 255-0072
Tucson (520) 629-9808

TTD Systems Only:
Phoenix (602) 712-3222
Elsewhere in Arizona 1-800-251-5866
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